What should a referee rule if Fencer X executes an attack and then leaves the strip with both feet after scoring a valid touch?

Get ready for your Fencing Referee Test. Study with multiple choice questions, hints, and explanations. Excel in your exam today!

When Fencer X executes an attack and successfully scores a valid touch before leaving the strip with both feet, the correct ruling is to award a touch for Fencer X. This decision is based on the principle that the scoring action was completed before the fencer exited the competition area.

In fencing, a touch is deemed valid if the attack is executed successfully, which means it meets the criteria of quality (such as making contact with the opponent in a manner that fulfills the rules of the bout). The important factor here is the timing of the touch; since it was achieved prior to leaving the strip, the score is counted and awarded to Fencer X.

After scoring, if the fencer leaves the strip, it does not negate the validity of the touch that just occurred. The movement off the strip is a separate action that happens post-scoring and does not influence the ruling of the touch that was already made. Each action is considered in its own context, making it clear that Fencer X deserves to have the touch recognized in this situation.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy