What action should the referee take when Fencer X ripostes and touches Fencer Y, but then falls as Y's remise touches valid surface?

Get ready for your Fencing Referee Test. Study with multiple choice questions, hints, and explanations. Excel in your exam today!

In this scenario, when Fencer X ripostes and successfully touches Fencer Y, which means Fencer X has made a valid attacking action, Fencer Y's subsequent remise (a counter-attack after that initial touch) must also be evaluated. If both fencers have made valid touches, the sequence of actions influences the referee's decision.

Fencer X's riposte accounts for a valid hit against Fencer Y. Meanwhile, even though Fencer X falls after the touch is made, that initial hit is the determining factor, as the touch by Y that occurs simultaneously or immediately thereafter mustn't negate the earlier valid touch by X. The rules take into account that a touch can be counted even if the attacking fencer falls after delivering it, unless the action disqualifies the hit.

Thus, awarding a touch to Fencer X is appropriate because the touch he made was valid, and the fall only occurred after that execution. The evaluation considers the sequence in which the actions take place, thus solidifying why Fencer X's action has precedence, leading to their touch being recognized and rewarded over Fencer Y’s.

This decision is consistent with the principle that in fencing, the first valid touch made is credited if it occurs before any simultaneous

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy