After Fencer Y executes a riposte and scores a valid touch, what should the Referee do if Fencer X drops their weapon?

Get ready for your Fencing Referee Test. Study with multiple choice questions, hints, and explanations. Excel in your exam today!

When Fencer Y executes a riposte and scores a valid touch, the proper procedure requires the referee to assess the situation involving Fencer X dropping their weapon. In fencing, a valid touch occurs when the blade makes contact with the opponent in a lawful manner, establishing the scoring fencer's action.

If Fencer X drops their weapon after the valid touch by Fencer Y, it indicates a break in their ability to defend or continue the bout effectively. However, the drop does not negate the fact that Fencer Y has scored a valid touch. The correct action for the referee in this scenario is to award the point to Fencer Y. The dropping of the weapon by Fencer X is treated as a result of the previous action (the valid riposte), reinforcing Fencer Y’s scoring action.

This understanding is crucial for maintaining the integrity of the scoring system in fencing, where a valid touch must be recognized even if the opponent's equipment is compromised immediately afterward. Dropping the weapon does not create a new scenario for scoring; it simply confirms the valid touch has been successfully executed. The referee must therefore ensure that the scoring reflects this outcome correctly.

Subscribe

Get the latest from Examzify

You can unsubscribe at any time. Read our privacy policy